Grévin's history
From its beginnings to today

At the end of the 19th century, Arthur Meyer, journalist and founder of the famous daily paper Le Gaulois, had an idea: to create life-sized statues of the personalities gracing the pages of his newspaper. At a time when photography wasn’t often used by the press, he imagined creating a place where the public could put faces to the names in the news.

To bring this project to life, he called upon Alfred Grévin. The caricaturist, theatre costume designer and sculptor became completely invested in the project, even naming the museum after himself. When the Grévin opened its doors on June 5, 1882, it was an instant success!

In 1883, Gabriel Thomas, a financial backer from the Société d’Exploitation de la Tour Eiffel and the Champs-Elysées theatre, provided the Grévin with the finances necessary for rapid development. He enhanced the site with new décor, making it a valuable heritage site. The Théâtre Grévin is included in the Inventaire des Monuments Historiques and the Palais des Mirages dates back to the 1900 Exposition Universelle.

More than one century later, and true to the spirit of its three founding fathers, this unique destination gives the public the chance to see celebrities with their own eyes.